Floods, Joy Division and hayfights

After much procrastinating, and might I add; rather enjoyable procrastinating, saving for the UK tour and my new amp has me sitting at home on a Friday night. I really had no excuse to hold this off any more. Here’s the scoop…

Welcome to the rather tentative current world of Friend? At this very moment in time, we should be mixing our brand new EP and discussing what it is we’re going to get printed on our Friend? double duvet sheets for our merch stand. But, on account of some rather…er..unusually localised flooding in Ranelagh, once again we play the waiting game. We’re currently looking at alternatives. It may not be courtesy of the lovely ElevenEleven just yet, but going to the UK without anything constituting a release really does fall in to the ‘pissing in the wind’ category. Fingers crossed, someone we mailed today gets back to us with good news and a schedule.

Other than that little snag, we’ve some pretty exciting things coming up. We’ve been kindly invited along to the Ian Curtis tribute in Crawdaddy on Friday 14th May. We’re going to be covering two songs written by Joy Division. Odd. Straight afterwards we’ll join Howl, Hassle Merchants, Noise Machine, History of Harry, Mescalito and more to play the MindYourHead session til the wee hours of Saturday. I haven’t attended one of these jamborees yet but I saw the words “McGruder’s style party” floating around, so I have rather wild expectations. I think it’s limited to 200. Hit up MindYourHead Session on Facebook and gerrup’.

Life Festival and Knockanstockan are our next big shows and tickets are already on sale. A major bonus to getting to play these festivals is the fact that my ticket is covered; I would be going regardless.

Last Saturday, we played SibĂ­n Festival. It’s damn impressive how an independent festival can get things right and pull over 1000 people to a festival with relatively no advertising, and manage to get sun in a week of shite weather. Kudos lads. We particularly enjoyed the hayfight!

~ Mark

Comments
2 Responses to “Floods, Joy Division and hayfights”
  1. Joan Elaine Hickey says:

    Please more advertising!!! How can I be a proper fan if I don’t know yer playing?

    • I know, we suck! We can’t get internet out in the house where we live/rehearse yet, so we’re a little all over the place. I’ll have one of the lads start running around town screaming a few days before each gig until we get the internet situation sorted.

Leave a comment